Skip to content

Dreaming in Cupcakes (Episode 1)

October 4, 2010

As we hit the fifth-week in the semester and I find myself drowning in papers and exams, I have been having frequent dessert daydreams. Here are some of the things I would make if I had the time, equipment, time, materials, and most importantly time.

Raspberri Cupcakes’ Two Melon Mousse

http://raspberricupcakes.blogspot.com/2010/09/two-melon-mousse.html

Guh.

LOOK AT THAT. My Dad always taught me you eat first with your eyes and the presentation on these babies is phenomenal. It looks so light and fluffy, like you’d be eating a pastel colored cloud. One day, when I own more than a mediocre hand mixer, these will be a regular part of my dessert repertoire.

Joy the Baker’s Brownie Bottom Ice-Cream Cupcakes

http://www.joythebaker.com/blog/2009/04/brownie-bottom-ice-cream-cupcakes/

I love how versatile cupcakes are and the ways you can use them to be surprising.  Plus, bite sized brownie Ice-Cream Sundaes? Sign me up! You could even made the brownie base, then set up stations for an ice-cream bar and have people decorate their own sundae! What a great idea.

And finally:

Two Peas’ Moijito Cupcakes with Lime Cream Cheese Frosting http://twopeasblog.wordpress.com/2010/09/21/mojito-cupcakes-with-lime-cream-cheese-frosting/

One of the perks of being 21 is finding was to use alcohol in baking. Yes, I have found a way to combine all joys of my youth with my 81-year-old grandmother tendencies. These look like a lot of fun to make, with their spunky frosting spikes and…the spiked nature of the cake itself. Hmmm…anyone have a birthday around the corner?

No comments yet

Leave a comment